KYEPSCoR white FacebookIcon xsmall TwitterIcon xsmall BluBiWhBG

Federal EPSCoR/IDeA and Other State Programs

The Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is an infrastructure-building effort to encourage local action to develop long term improvements in a state’s science and engineering (S&E) enterprise. It was created by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in response to Congressional concerns about geographical concentration of Federal funding of academic research and development (R&D).

Addition of other Federal Agencies and the IDeA Program:
Congress expanded the NSF program in the 1990s and created EPSCoR-related programs in the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), Department of Agriculture (USDA), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). For more information on the active National EPSCoR/IDeA programs click the Agency logos to the right.  Note the DOD and EPA EPSCoR programs are currently inactive due to federal budget reductions.

Other EPSCoR State Programs:
Currently twenty-eight states, Puerto Rico, Guam and the Virgin Islands have been identified as EPSCoR Jurisdictions. Through these federal-state partnerships, EPSCoR focuses on building science, engineering and technology capabilities that promote national competitiveness. These partnerships help to balance the distribution of federal research dollars and use state or local control in the delivery of program goals. Each EPSCoR state designs and executes its own strategic plans by melding exemplary research, education and economic development initiatives into a statewide approach.


Federal Agencies with EPSCoR/IDeA Programs

Click logos below to view program:
EPSCoR Programs Currently Active:
NSF Logo NASA logo
DOE Logo Emblem Only

IDeA & NIFA-AFRI Programs
 NIH logo  USDA Logo

Programs Inactive (No Federal Budget):

 EPA logo

Program absorbed 2004


Program defunded 2010